project-navigation
Personal tools
  Help Search
 
 


September 03, 2010, 04:17:05 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: New board
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: UFO:AI on Ebay??  (Read 5669 times)
BlakeD
Rookie
***
Posts: 41


View Profile
« on: July 25, 2007, 04:28:18 AM »

http://search.ebay.com/search/search.dll?from=R40&_trksid=m37&satitle=x-com

Check it out.
Logged
inquisiteur2
Squad Leader
****
Posts: 152


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2007, 08:14:14 AM »

That's stupid, there are two sellers, one of the is totally unknown, the other has 604 good ratings ?!

Anyway most of the people will go on google before purchasing something, they won't be fooled by those lowless cheapskates.

Did Ufo AI already appear as a bundle CD in a game review magasine ? that would be an explanation...
Logged
BTAxis
Administrator
PHALANX Commander
*******
Posts: 2596



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2007, 12:12:34 PM »

What does the GPL say about this? I don't think it states you can't make money off the software.
Logged
blondandy
Sergeant
*****
Posts: 391



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2007, 12:19:47 PM »

I would find it upsetting if someone was conned into paying for UFO:AI.

The ad states UFO:AI is LGPL, which is incorrect, it is GPL.

Quote from: "mareszah_17"
Note to eBay Staff: We are authorized to distribute this software by the copyright holder under GNU Lesser General Public License (LGPL).


Quote from: "GPL"
You may charge any price or no price for each copy that you convey, and you may offer support or warranty protection for a fee.


So they are allowed to put it on ebay for a fee. I think we could report the seller to ebay on the grounds they have the license wrong. I will do this, if people are in agreement.
Logged
BTAxis
Administrator
PHALANX Commander
*******
Posts: 2596



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2007, 12:57:19 PM »

I was looking into reporting the item myself, but since you seem to know more of this than I do I will leave it to you.
Logged
blondandy
Sergeant
*****
Posts: 391



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2007, 01:28:05 PM »

Seems to be a problem with the ebay reporting submissions system. Could someone with a US ebay account try to report it? My suggested text for the report is

"
There are several items listed as
"Computer PC Game - UFO ALIEN INVASION comparable X-COM"
The adverts say the game is released under the LGPL. This is not allowed. The game is GPL, and so may never be redistributed under LGPL. It is free, open source
http://sourceforge.net/project/platformdownload.php?group_id=157793
"

It occurs to me that a good way to ensure this doe not happen would be to create a UFO:AI "buy it now" item for zero money, or 1 cent. The advert could direct people to get it free from sourceforge.
Logged
BTAxis
Administrator
PHALANX Commander
*******
Posts: 2596



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2007, 01:55:30 PM »

Hah. Actually, take a look here:
http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/downloadable.html
Quote
Any digitally delivered item may not be pornographic in nature.

We have a couple of images like that. We could nab him on that!
Logged
MDA
Cannon Fodder
**
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2007, 02:34:35 PM »

There's no way to actually submit a text report - you pick categories from menus and submenus - so I reported it as selling beta, test, or evaluation software.  Seems to be the best I could do.  It would be nice if I could submit an actual explanation, but based on how their reporting system is set up, Ebay doesn't seem interested in hearing it.

Received an email from ebay saying I woudn't be hearing back, they will resolve the issue on their own with the information I gave them.  :roll:  

Maybe someone with a little more ebay experience will know a better way to communicate the problem, because I'm not at all confident what I did will result in any action.
Logged
Zenerka
Administrator
Sergeant
*****
Posts: 301


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2007, 02:37:03 PM »

Quote from: "BTAxis"
We have a couple of images like that.

I believe we do not. But blondandy is right, of course. Anyone can sell GPL stuff anytime as long as seller saves the license.
But! We do have some CC stuff with Attribute-NonCommercial. Now this is *forbidden* to be sold in any way.
Logged

/* Zenerka */
BTAxis
Administrator
PHALANX Commander
*******
Posts: 2596



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2007, 02:44:15 PM »

Quote from: "Zenerka"
I believe we do not.

/base/textures/tex_pics/x_calendar_up*.jpg
Logged
Zenerka
Administrator
Sergeant
*****
Posts: 301


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2007, 02:46:48 PM »

I wish you good luck convincing the ebay or the US court that such images are pornography. Tongue

EDIT: the bigger problem is that we do not have permissions to use them, I believe, while these are placed on three maps.
Logged

/* Zenerka */
BTAxis
Administrator
PHALANX Commander
*******
Posts: 2596



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2007, 02:55:20 PM »

Heh. Anyone here up for taking nude photographs of themselves and releasing them under the GPL?
Logged
BlakeD
Rookie
***
Posts: 41


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2007, 07:58:04 PM »

I have a male tom that's been meowing for weeks for a woman...

Best I could do is offer some "Kittie" porn under GPL.
Logged
blondandy
Sergeant
*****
Posts: 391



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: July 27, 2007, 12:02:19 PM »

I have tried again. Created a US ebay account for the purpose. In fact I reported it 3 times under different systems. (it is a crap submissions system with only certain categories). depending on the category, you can send a detailed message. I chose stolen/intellectual property. my message was (thanks for the CC noncommercial hint, Zen)

"
items
200132366909
200134152309
200133761501

This game is released under GPL. It is free open source.
see
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ufoai/
The seller has no right to release it under LGPL.
It contains CC noncommercial material. This may not be sold.
"

Please could other people report to ebay.com too. I reckon that a flood of communication may make them take notice. looking at the vendor's account, you can see that some people have already been cheated of 10 dollars.
Logged
blondandy
Sergeant
*****
Posts: 391



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: July 28, 2007, 07:02:15 AM »

Quote from: "ebay"
Dear Andy,

Thank you for writing eBay in regard to the potential infringement of
intellectual property.

If you come across an item that you believe may infringe someone's
intellectual property rights, we encourage you to contact the rights
owner. Rights owners can have infringing listings removed through the
eBay Verified Rights Owner (VeRO) program.

You'll find a list of rights owners and contact information, as well as
information about infringing items, in the VeRO Program About Me pages.
To view the list, please go to:
http://pages.ebay.com/help/community/vero-aboutme.html

If you are a rights owner and would like more information about the VeRO
Program, visit:

http://pages.ebay.com/help/tp/programs-vero-ov.html

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Isabella

eBay Customer Support


sounds like they are not going to do anything unless they are told more and repeatedly. would members of the dev team ("rights owners") like to follow those links and pursue this?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!